Published: Tue, February 05, 2019
Sport | By Ashley Hunter

Mawae, Reed highlight loaded Hall of Fame class

Mawae, Reed highlight loaded Hall of Fame class

Former cornerback Champ Bailey was voted into the Hall of Fame last weekend, giving the team six players in Canton: Bailey, quarterback John Elway, offensive lineman Gary Zimmerman, running back Floyd Little, tight end Shannon Sharpe and running back Terrell Davis.

The committee took a bit more time discussing Ty Law's case for the Hall of Fame.

Law played for New England for 10 years before joining the Kansas City Chiefs, the New York Jets and the Denver Broncos. Reed was known for his playmaking ability on the defensive side of the ball, registering 64 interceptions in his 13-year career (61 with the Ravens) and returning a ridiculous seven of them for touchdowns. He broke up a league-high 23 passes in 2003. He had 57 career interceptions as he made six AFL All-Star Games, and late in his career played in a Pro Bowl and was All-NFL in 1970.

Law was a five-time Pro Bowler and two-time All-Pro who won three Super Bowls with the Patriots.

Maroon 5’s Super Bowl performance didn’t fare well with fans
The band teased "SpongeBob Squarepants" song "Sweet Victory" before Scott entered with a slew of fireballs and pyrotechnics. But the crowd seemed to get riled up the most for Big Boi , who rolled into the show in a classic vehicle .

World Cup hosts Qatar stun Japan to win first Asian Cup
Japan were rattled and Qatar almost found a third before half-time, with only the woodwork denying captain Hasan Al Haydos. Qatar have won their first major football title by beating four-time champion Japan 3-1 in the Asian Cup final on Friday.

Post experts make their Super Bowl picks
Julian Edelman has been posting videos all week to get you pumped up for Super Bowl LIII , and he's got one more for you to watch. New England has just three first-quarter points - a field goal a year ago against the Eagles - in those past eight appearances.

James also has recorded the most seasons in franchise history with at least 1,000 rushing yards as he's done it five times.

The new class of honorees to the Pro Football Hall of Fame were announced in Atlanta on Saturday night, just one day ahead of Super Bowl LIII. Law was drafted in the first round of the 1995 NFL Draft by the Patriots and served as one of the most dominant defensive backs to play in his era. Gonzalez was voted to 14 Pro Bowls in his career and was an All-Pro seven times. He also holds the franchise record for rushing yards in a single season - 1,709 yards during the 2000 season.

A Georgia native, Bailey's career started with the Washington Redskins before he was traded to the Denver Broncos in 2004. His 15,610 total yards from scrimmage ranks 11th all-time among running backs, and is more than Hall of Fame backs Eric Dickerson, Jerome Bettis and Jim Brown.

Brandt's eye for talent helped the Dallas Cowboys post 20 consecutive winning seasons (1966-85) during his tenure from 1960-88. He did it well, too, as the 2000s All-Decade Team member notched 54 career interceptions.

Like this: